USACO 2016 December Contest, Silver Problem 2. Cities and States

This is the question
and `This is the solution
I am new to programming in general and didn’t understand the logic behind the if statement (there’s only a single if statement in the entire code) can anyone give a test case through which I can understand the use of that if statement.

`

Hello! I don’t know how long you have been doing programming, but if I’m assuming less then a month of USACO, I don’t think silver problems are really the things to solve right now. This problem is fairly straightforward. The if is just if the two states are special pairs.

I did this by using HashMap<String,String> states = new HashMap<>() where the key is the full name and the value is the abbreviation.

1 Like

Ohk, I didn’t quite looked at the difficulty level. Will watch out for that. :+1:

I was just saying because bronze to silver is a big jump. This problem is really straight forward though. Just if you were given an input, how would you do it manually?

I was using brute force like by creating a map of state code to the list of cities having that state code. Then iterating over the map and over all the cities (for a particular state code) and find the cities that satisfies the condition.
But was tle.

Ahh, I see how I solved this again. There is an optimization that I used. I made a HashMap with String and Integer. Bring will be the first 2 letters of the actual name + the 2 letter string of the abbreviation. The integer is how many times this string occurs. I did this because since we’re taking the first two letters, it is possible for there to be multiple. I think if you saw my code you might understand it more.
Sorry for using Scanner, I didn’t learn BR at that time. sc1.next is getting the next String in the input.

import java.util.Scanner;
import java.io.BufferedWriter;
import java.io.File;
import java.io.FileWriter;
import java.io.PrintWriter;
import java.util.HashMap;

public class Cities_And_States {