Resources for Web Development

Hi, this is my first time using the forum. I hope this is the right place to ask this.

The UI on the USACO Guide is very well made, and I was wondering if the developers of the website (or anyone experienced in web design) could let me know where I can find a structured course for web development to achieve the level of design that the USACO Guide displays? I have been learning Angular and I have experience with HTML/CSS, but the information on how to build websites is scattered across the internet, which often results in the websites I create being less maintainable (with one of the biggest problems with my websites often being adaptability to different screen sizes).

So is this because one needs more external tools than pure HTML/CSS and Angular/JS to design websites, or is it because I have not been looking in the right places for a structured course on designing a responsive website with just plain code (no other external tools)? Thanks in advance for any responses.

4 Likes

Bumping this post since I think it’s been a significant amount of time since I originally posted, please let me know if there is a stricter rule about bumping on this forum. :slight_smile:

@thecodingwizard help!!

@Benq you’re more qualified to answer; you learned web dev + React in like one week whereas it took me eight years to learn that :heart:

Specifically for your question: Design and development are different. I can only speak to development; I don’t really know that much about website design. Pure HTML/CSS/vanilla JS probably won’t get you very far; new websites tend to use one framework or another. However, I would strongly recommend having solid fundamentals in HTML/CSS/JS before attempting to learn frameworks such as Angular or React. Responsive design is pretty straightforward; just use some media query breakpoints. Tailwind CSS makes this super easy.

In general: